Biography

Sub-specialist in CataractCornea and Refractive Surgery

Dr. Alain Saad pursued a “fellowship” as assistant des hôpitaux de Paris in the refractive, cataract and corneal surgery department lead by Dr Damien Gatinel at the Rothschild Foundation in Paris from 2010 till 2013.

 

He was appointed and worked as a full time ophthalmologist in this department from June 2013 to December 2016.

In January 2017, Dr Saad was appointed as assistant professor of clinical ophthalmology at the American University of Beirut. He fulfilled his duty there until October 2020, while continuing his close cooperation and research projects with the Rothschild Foundation in Paris.

 

In November 2020, Dr Saad was appointed as "Praticien Titulaire" at the Rothschild Foundation.

He is also practicing at the “Argentine Medical Center” in the center of Paris and is vice medical director of the “Centre de l’oeil, Aus der Au” in Fribourg, Switzerland.   

Dr Alain Saad - Best Eye Surgeon Paris - Meilleur Ophtalmo Suisse

The main areas of interest of Dr Saad are:

 

Along with his colleague and chairman, Dr Damien Gatinel, Dr Saad developed an artificial intelligence software aimed to help selecting good candidate for refractive surgery (Score Analyzer – Orbscan).

 

Dr Saad was among the first in France to develop specific expertise in Endothelial Keratoplasty - DMEK . This surgical technique radically changed the course of corneal disease. Dr Saad is currently an instructor, organizing training for surgeons wishing to adopt this very promising technique.

 

Dr Saad was also among the first to offer DMEK surgery in Lebanon and the Middle East at the American University of Beirut - Medical Center. During his 4 years in Lebanon, Dr Saad performed more than 300 endothelial keratoplasties (DMEK) and developed expertise in anterior segment reconstruction surgeries and secondary implantations.

 

Dr Saad has to date more than 50 publications in major international peer reviewed ophthalmology journals and more than 100 presentations at national and international meetings.

Waring Award

2019

From the International Society of Refractive Surgery recognizing an Ophthalmologist early in his career who has demonstrated commitment to the promulgation of knowledge of the practice of refractive surgery.

Rising star

2017

Dr. Saad was chosen by the journal "the Ophthalmologist" as one of the rising stars in Ophthalmology. 

Achievement Award

2016

Dr. Saad received the achievement award of the American Academy of Ophthalmology. 

Top 40 Under 40

2015

 

Dr. Saad was nominated and ranked number 10 in the "top 40 under 40" list of the journal "the Ophthalmologist".

Biographie

Sous-spécialiste de la la chirurgie réfractive, de la cataracte et de la cornée, le Dr Alain Saad a poursuivi un «fellowship» en tant qu'assistant des hôpitaux de Paris dans le service dirigé par le Dr Damien Gatinel à la Fondation Rothschild à Paris de 2010 à 2013.

Il a été nommé et a travaillé comme ophtalmologiste à temps plein dans ce service de juin 2013 à décembre 2016.

En janvier 2017, le Dr Saad a été nommé professeur assistant d'ophtalmologie clinique (Assistant Professor of Clinical Ophthalmology) à l' Université américaine de Beyrouth. Il y a rempli sa fonction jusqu'en octobre 2020, tout en poursuivant sa coopération étroite et ses projets de recherche avec la Fondation Rothschild à Paris.

 

En novembre 2020 , le Dr Saad a été nommé "Praticien Titulaire" à la Fondation Rothschild.

Il exerce également au « Centre Médical Argentine » à Paris et est directeur médical adjoint du « Centre de l'œil, Aus der Au » à Fribourg en Suisse.

Les principaux centres d’intérêts du Dr Saad sont:

 

Avec son collègue, le Dr Damien Gatinel, le Dr Saad est le co-inventeur d'un logiciel d'intelligence artificielle visant à aider à sélectionner les candidats pour la chirurgie réfractive (Score Analyzer - Orbscan).

 

Le Dr Saad a été parmi les premiers en France à développer une expertise spécifique en Kératoplastie Endothéliale - DMEK. Cette technique chirurgicale a radicalement changé le cours des maladies de la cornée. Le Dr Saad est actuellement instructeur, organisant des formations pour les chirurgiens souhaitant adopter cette technique très prometteuse.

 

Le Dr Saad a également été parmi les premiers à proposer la chirurgie DMEK au Liban et au Moyen-Orient à l'Université américaine de Beyrouth - Medical Center. Au cours de ses 4 années au Liban, le Dr Saad a réalisé plus de 300 kératoplasties endothéliales (DMEK) et développé une expertise dans les chirurgies de reconstruction du segment antérieur et des implantations secondaires.

 

Le Dr Saad a à ce jour plus de 50 publications dans les principales revues internationales d'ophtalmologie à comité de lecture et plus de 100 présentations dans les congrès nationaux et internationaux.

Waring Award

2019

Prix de la Société internationale de chirurgie réfractive (ISRS), reconnaissant un ophtalmologiste au début de sa carrière qui a démontré son engagement dans la diffusion des connaissances dans la pratique de la chirurgie réfractive.

Rising star

2017

Le Dr Saad a été choisi par la revue "the Ophthalmologist" comme l'une des "étoiles montantes" en ophtalmologie.

Achievement Award

2016

Le Dr SAAD a reçu le prix d'excellence (Achievement Award) de l'American Academy of Ophthalmology.

Top 40 Under 40

2015

 

Le Dr SAAD a été nominé et classé numéro 10 dans la liste des «Top 40 under 40» de la revue «the Ophthalmologist».

 

Besoin de plus d'informations?

              

  • Instagram Social Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon
  • LinkedIn Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Facebook Social Icon