Myopia

Nearsightedness is a condition in which we can clearly see nearby objects, but objects further away appear blurry. People with nearsightedness may have trouble seeing road signs or TV screens clearly, but are able to read a book or send a text (mild to moderate myopia). In addition, myopia can cause squinting, eye strain, and headaches. These symptoms are usually reversible with correction through glasses, contact lenses, or laser surgery.

Myopia occurs if the eyeball is too long or the cornea is too curved. Light rays focus on a point in front of the retina rather than on the retina, so distant objects appear blurry. The exact cause of nearsightedness is unknown, but many studies have linked its onset with prolonged close-sightedness coupled with a genetic predisposition (if your parents are nearsighted, you are more likely to be nearsighted).

chirurgie myopie paris

Nearsightedness is the most common refractive error and a recent study estimated the number of nearsighted people in Europe at 227.2 million people. Myopia should not be viewed as an eye disease but as a refractive error.

 

Nearsightedness typically affects children and stabilizes in their early twenties. In some rare cases, it continues to progress with age.

 

Available treatments include:

chirurgie myopie paris

Contact lenses

chirurgie myopie paris

Glasses

Myopie

 Qu'est-ce que la myopie ?

 

La myopie est une condition dans laquelle nous pouvons voir clairement les objets proches, mais les objets plus éloignés semblent flous. Les personnes atteintes de myopie peuvent avoir du mal à voir clairement les panneaux de signalisation ou les écrans de télévision, mais sont capables de lire un livre ou d'envoyer un texto (myopie légère à modérée). De plus, la myopie peut provoquer des strabismes, une fatigue oculaire et des maux de tête. Ces symptômes sont généralement réversibles avec une correction par lunettes, des lentilles de contact ou une chirurgie laser. 

Les causes de la myopie

La myopie survient si le globe oculaire est trop long ou si la cornée est trop courbe. Les rayons lumineux  se focalisent en un point situé devant la rétine plutôt que sur la rétine, de sorte que les objets distants semblent flous. La cause exacte de la myopie est inconnue, mais de nombreuses études ont associé son apparition à la réalisation prolongée de tâches de près couplée à une prédisposition génétique (si vos parents sont myopes, le risque que vous soyez également myope est plus élevé).

Les traitements de la myopie

La myopie est l'erreur réfractive la plus fréquente et une étude récente a estimé le nombre de personnes myopes en Europe à 227,2 millions de personnes. La myopie ne doit pas être considérée comme une maladie oculaire mais comme un trouble de la réfraction.

 

La myopie affecte généralement les enfants et se stabilise au début de la vingtaine. Dans certains cas rares, elle continue de progresser avec l'âge.

 

Les traitements de la myopie disponibles comprennent:

Lentilles de contact

Lunettes

Besoin de plus d'informations?

              

  • Instagram Social Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon
  • LinkedIn Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Facebook Social Icon