Colored iris implant

  • Colored Iriens Implant - Is It Possible To Change Eye Color?

 

 

Colored iris implants, inserted for aesthetic purposes in order to change the color of the eyes, represent a real public health problem. Unlike functional iris implants used in cases of traumatic or iatrogenic aniridia which are positioned in the sulcus or capsular bag, cosmetic colored implants are positioned on a healthy iris and in direct contact with the iriscorneal angle. Developed in Panama, the “New Color Iris” (figure 1) have apparently been implanted in more than 700 patients who made the trip to Panama between 2006 and 2010 in order to undergo a bilateral surgery. Many published clinical cases have reported complications related to the placement of these implants.

Complications of colored iris implants:

Fifty percent of the patients who benefited from the "New Color Iris" developed glaucoma, cataracts, uveitis, whether or not associated with endothelial decompensation. Despite the removal of the implant, more than half of the patients required secondary intervention such as endothelial corneal transplant, penetrating keratoplasty, filtering surgery or cataract surgery.

 

Implant irien coloré "New color iris"
Figure 1: Implant irien de première génération

More recently, a new iris implant, the “BrightOcular” (figure 2) replaced the “New Color Iris”. Its size is between 11.5 and 13.5mm, for a thickness varying between 0.3 and 0.5mm. It is used in nearly 10 countries outside of Europe and the United States. The company's website communicates that the implant is made from material approved by the FDA. However, no study has validated the safety of the use of these implants. One study reports the results of 12 patients who received Brightocular implants: 80% developed anterior uveitis, 58% glaucoma and 50% endothelial decompensation requiring corneal transplantation.

 

Figure 2: Appearance of the eyes with blue "Bright Ocular" iris implant. Note the corneal edema on the left eye caused by the implant.
Bottom left, aspect of the bright ocular implant under a biomicroscope.
Bottom right: Explantation of a bright ocular implant through a micro-incision.
Figure 2B.JPG

Explantation technique of a colored "Bright Ocular" iris implant

 

It is relatively easy to remove these silicone implants (figure 2, video). Through a 3 mm micro-incision, the implant is sectioned using 23 gauge scissors. It can then be removed through the microincision as it's flexible.

 

Are iris implants authorized in France?

No, the iris implants for cosmetic purposes are not allowed, neither in France nor in most countries of the European Union. They are to be distinguished from "Human Optics" iris implants which aim to correct congenital or acquired pathologies leading to aniridia (partial or total absence of iris). These have the CE marking and have a perfect place in reconstructive surgeries of the anterior segment.

 

The colored iris implants have an important media campaign, combined with a presence on social networks and indirect support of celebrities who have benefited from their implantation even though no serious study has proven safe and many cases of serious complications have been reported. The company BrightOcular speak on their website of a "brief, safe and painless" procedure while no scientific study has confirmed these statements. Today, it is essential to inform patients of the risks associated with the placement of such implants and to carry out strict monitoring of patients who have benefited from them.

Eye complications related to conjunctival tattoos:

 

 

Episcleral tattooing is a technique consisting in injecting a dye into the subconjunctival space, the objective being mainly cosmetic. The technical gesture is generally not carried out by a surgeon or by personnel trained in the ophthalmological environment. It is done without a surgical microscope with the risk of globe penetration, traumatic cataracts, retinal detachment or endophthalmitis.

Short-term complications reported include headache, photophobia and a persistent foreign body sensation. More severe, infections and perforation of the eyeball have been described. In the longer term, the literature speculates on the risk of a local inflammatory granulomatous reaction associated with scleral thinning, allergic reactions, uveitis or the possibility of migration of the dye into the surrounding tissues, at the iridocorneal angle with a risk of associated glaucoma, or at the level of the optic nerve with the risk of optic nevritis.

It is important today to properly assess the risks associated with such practices and to inform patients who may be interested in them.

 

Eye complications related to conjunctival whitening surgeries

The conjunctival whitening procedures initially described for the treatment of hyperhemias in chronic conjunctivitis consist of a large resection of the conjunctiva associated with a resection of the Tenon's capsule more or less associated with the use of Mitomycin C (MMC) per or postoperatively. The goal of using MMC is to reduce the risk of scarring. This technique was mainly performed in South Korea, with results published in 2013 on nearly 1,700 patients. The main complications reported include scleral thinning, calcified plaque formation, fibrovascular proliferation, ocular hypertension, and recurrence of conjunctival hyperemia. Cases of necrotizing scleritis have been described up to 4 years after surgery. In March 2014, ASCRS issued a press release recommending the use of other techniques to treat conjunctival hyperemia.

Implant iriens colorés 

  • Implant Iriens colorés - Est il possible de changer la couleur des yeux?

 

 

Les implants iriens colorés, implantés à visée esthétique afin de changer la couleur des yeux, représentent aujourd’hui un vrai problème de santé publique. A la différence des implants iriens fonctionnels utilisés dans les cas d’aniridie traumatique ou iatrogène, et qui sont positionnés dans le sulcus ou le sac capsulaire, les implants colorés cosmétiques sont positionnés sur un iris sain et en contact direct avec l’angle irido-cornéen. Développé au Panama, les « New Color Iris » (figure 1) ont semble-t-il été implantés chez plus de 700 patients qui faisaient le voyage au Panama entre 2006 et 2010 afin de bénéficier d’une chirurgie bilatérale. De nombreux cas cliniques publiés ont rapporté les complications liés à la pose de ces implants.

Complications des implants iriens colorés:

Cinquante pourcent des patients ayant bénéficié des « New Color Iris » ont développé un glaucome, une cataracte, une uveite associée ou pas à une décompensation endothéliale. Malgré le retrait de l’implant, plus de la moitié des patients nécessitaient une intervention secondaire telles qu’une greffe de cornée endothéliale, une kératoplastie transfixiante, une chirurgie filtrante ou une chirurgie de cataracte.

 

Figure 1: Implant irien de première génération

Plus récemment un nouvel implant irien, le « BrightOcular » (figure 2) a remplacé le « New Color Iris ». Sa taille est entre 11.5 et 13.5mm, pour une épaisseur variant entre 0.3 et 0.5mm. Il est utilisé dans près de 10 pays en dehors de l’Europe et des Etats-Unis. Le site internet de la société communique que l’implant est fabriqué à partir de matériau approuvé par la FDA. Cependant aucune étude n’a validé l’innocuité de l’utilisation de ces implants. Une étude rapporte les résultats de 12 patients ayant bénéficié de la poste des implants « Brightocular : 80% ont développé une uveite antérieure, 58% un glaucome et 50% une décompensation endothéliale nécessitant une greffe de cornée.

 

Figure 2: Aspect des yeux avec implant irien "Bright Ocular" bleu. A noter l’œdème cornéen sur l’œil gauche causé par l'implant.
En bas à gauche, aspect de l'implant bright ocular sous biomicroscope.
En bas à droite: Explantation d'un implant bright ocular à travers une micro-incision.
Explantation d'un implant irien bright ocular

Technique d’explantation d'un implant irien coloré "Bright Ocular"

 

Il est relativement aisé de retirer ces implants en silicone (figure 2, vidéo). A travers une micro-incision de 3 mm, l’implant est sectionné à l’aide de ciseaux 23 gauge. Il peut ensuite être retiré, étant assez souple et passant à travers la microincision.

 

Les implants iriens sont ils autorisés en France?

Non, les implants iriens à visée esthétique ne sont pas autorisés, ni en France, ni dans la grande majorité des pays de l'union européenne. Ils sont à différencier des implants iriens "Human Optics" qui ont pour objectif de corriger des pathologies congénitales ou acquises entraînant une aniridie (absence partielle ou totale d'iris). Ces derniers ont bien le marquage CE et ont parfaitement leur place dans les chirurgies réparatrices du segment antérieur. 

 

Les implants iriens colorés à visée esthétiques jouissent d’une campagne médiatique, associé à une présence sur les réseaux sociaux et l’appui indirect de célébrités ayant bénéficié de leur pose alors même qu’aucune étude sérieuse n’a prouvé leur innocuité et que plusieurs cas de complications graves ont été rapportés. Plus grave, la société BrightOcular parlent sur leur site internet d’une procédure « brève, sûre et sans douleur » alors qu’aucune étude scientifique ne vient confirmer ces affirmations, bien au contraire. Il est essentiel aujourd’hui d’informer les patients des risques liés à la pose de tels implants et d’effectuer un suivi strict chez les patients qui en ont bénéficié.

Complications oculaires liées aux tatouages conjonctivaux:

 

 

Le tatouage episcleral est une technique consistant à injecter un colorant dans l’espace sous-conjonctival, l’objectif étant principalement cosmétique. Le geste technique n’est en général pas réalisé par un chirurgien ni par un personnel entrainé dans le milieu ophtalmologique. Il est fait sans microscope chirurgical avec des risques de pénétration du globe, cataracte traumatique, décollement de rétine ou endophtalmie.

Les complications à court terme rapportés comportent des céphalées, des photophobies et une sensation de corps étrangers persistante. Plus sévère, des infections et une perforation du globe oculaire ont été décrites. A plus long terme, la littérature spécule sur le risque de réaction inflammatoire granulomateuse locale associé à un amincissement scléral, des réactions allergiques, une uveite ou la possibilité de migration du colorant dans les tissus avoisinant, au niveau de l’angle irido-cornéen avec un risque de glaucome associé, ou bien au niveau du nerf optique avec le risque de nevrite optique.

Il est important aujourd’hui de bien mesurer les risques liés à de telles pratiques et d’en informer les patients susceptibles de s’y intéresser.

 

Complications oculaires liées aux chirurgies de blanchiment conjonctival

Les procédures de blanchiment conjonctival initialement décrites pour le traitement des hyperhémies sur conjonctivite chronique consistent en une large résection de la conjonctive associée à une résection de la capsule de Tenon plus ou moins associé à l’utilisation de Mitomycine C (MMC) per ou post opératoire. L’utilisation de la MMC a  pour objectif de réduire le risque cicatriciel. Cette technique a principalement été réalisée en Corée du Sud, avec des résultats publiés en 2013 sur près de 1700 patients.  Les principales complications rapportés incluent un amincissement scléral, la formation d’une plaque calcifiée, une prolifération fibrovasculaire, une hypertonie oculaire, et la récidive d’une hyperhémie conjonctivale. Des cas de sclérite nécrosante ont été décrit jusqu’à 4 ans après l’intervention. En Mars 2014, l’ASCRS a publié un communiqué recommandant l’utilisation d’autres techniques afin de traiter l’hyperhémie conjonctivale.

 

Besoin de plus d'informations?

              

  • Instagram Social Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon
  • LinkedIn Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Facebook Social Icon